Posted in Learning from His Word, Seeking Him

How much have we let culture re-write the Bible?

2014-12-22-06-06-07I was amazed this past weekend as I shared a cute Jesus birth trivia game with the women in our Bible study.  I had taken the quiz a couple of years ago, and was surprised how many questions I got wrong.  After all, I read my Bible daily, and I must have read the Matthew and Luke versions of this story hundreds of time.  Here are some of the questions.  Without opening your Bible to look, answer these for yourself, and then look up the stories in Matthew 1:18 -2:18 and Luke 2:1-39.   Let me know how many you missed.  Don’t be embarrassed, I’ve already taken the embarrassment award.

  1. Joseph was originally from (Bethlehem, Nazareth, Hebron, Jerusalem, none of these choices)?
  2. What does the Bible say the innkeeper said to Mary and Joseph (“There is no room in the inn.” “I have a stable you can use.” “Come back later and I should have room.” “both the first and the second statements” or “none of these”?
  3. Which animals does the Bible say were present at Jesus’ birth (sheep, and goats, sheep and a donkey, camels, sheep, and a donkey, or none)?
  4. According to the Bible, how did Mary and Joseph get to Bethlehem (camel, donkey, walked, Joseph walked and Mary rode on a donkey, horse-drawn cart, or who knows)?
  5. How many wise men came to see Jesus (3,6,9,12, we don’t know)?
  6. Where did the wise men find Jesus (In a manger, In a stable, In a house, In Nazareth, or none of these choices)?
  7. The “star in the east” that the wise men followed… (stayed in the same place during their entire journey, disappeared and reappeared, moved ahead of them and stopped over the place where Jesus was, or none of the above)?
  8. Who told (made) Mary and Joseph go to Bethlehem (an angel, Mary’s mother, Herod, the shepherds, Caesar Augustus)?

If you don’t want to look up your answers, I will provide them in Wednesday’s blog, along with a discussion about what this tells us about ourselves.  Hope you will come back and check in on Wednesday.

“Do not be afraid.  I bring you good news. Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; He is Christ the Lord.” (Luke 2:10-11)

 

Praying for love, joy, and peace to fill your life this Christmas and beyond, through a deeper love and faith in Jesus Christ our Lord.

 

Author:

I love to think about God and the amazing love he has poured out on his people. I love to spend time with God and with God's word. God has proven faithful to his promises throughout history, and in my life. I long to serve him out of my gratitude and thankfulness. Most Holy God, guide my thoughts, use my words, and bless all those who read these posts. Amen

Leave a Reply

