Posted in Learning from His Word

Blessed are the poor in spirit…

Welcome!  We now consider the blessedness of the poor in spirit.  The word “poor” comes from the Greek word ptōchos  which is a description of someone who has nothing, someone who is destitute.  This is the type of person Jesus calls blessed?  How can this be?  When we consider the Hebrew usage of the word “poor” we find passages which speak of people, who in their desperation sought God and found, in trusting Him, relief from their complete helplessness.

matt5c

Consider these verses in Psalms.

From the bottom of my heart praise rises to him. Where is his equal in all of heaven and earth? Who else protects the weak and helpless from the strong, and the poor and needy from those who would rob them? (Ps 35:10 NLT)

You sent abundant rain upon your land, O God, to refresh it in its weariness! There your people lived, for you gave them this home when they were destitute. (Ps 68:9-10)

But He lifts the needy out of their suffering
and makes their families multiply like flocks. (Ps 107:41 HCSB)

I will abundantly bless its food;
I will satisfy its needy with bread. (Ps 132:15 HCSB)

Jesus is saying that it is when we find ourselves in complete wretchedness, with nowhere to turn for help, that we turn and seek God. It is then that we come to know the joy that can be found only through Him.  It is then when we find the kingdom of heaven is right here, right now.  It is only when we realize we are not able to solve our problem, or repair the damage in a relationship, or in our lives, and we fall to our knees and seek God, that He will be found.

“You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart (Jer 29:13).

For me it was on the laundry room floor, when I realized I could not go on to live another day, and I cried out “God, if you are real, I need you now.  I cannot live another day.”  God met me and has been guiding my life ever since.

Have you had that utter hopelessness?  Maybe you are feeling it now.  If so, the kingdom of heaven (on earth) is so close, you just need to reach out and seek Him.  He will lift you up and fill you with hope, and that hope will grow for as long as you continue to seek Him.

My life today is totally different from what it was 20+ years ago on the laundry room floor.  It started to change the moment I cried out to God, and it has been an unbelievable journey ever since.  Each day I grow.  Each day my love for God and people deepens.  Each day I praise God for the kingdom of heaven living I am blessed with.

I hope you will join God’s family by reaching out to Him today.  He is right there waiting for you.  It just takes a genuine desire to know Him and be known by Him.

And then joy will replace heartache, contentment will replace want, and peace will reign when there should be no peace.

Peace I leave with you. My peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Your heart must not be troubled or fearful” (John 14:27).

“I have told you these things so that in Me you may have peace. You will have suffering in this world. Be courageous! I have conquered the world” (John 16:33).

Blessings!

Author:

I love to think about God and the amazing love he has poured out on his people. I love to spend time with God and with God's word. God has proven faithful to his promises throughout history, and in my life. I long to serve him out of my gratitude and thankfulness. Most Holy God, guide my thoughts, use my words, and bless all those who read these posts. Amen

Leave a Reply

